Even though work can be boring; it doesn’t mean that your clothes have to be

Necklace Bow Tie – Diva Shirt – Doriano LBD – Portmans Heels – Coach

My current place of work is one that you would not expect, not in retail, merchandising, styling or anything to do with fashion. I work in a finance company, you know how it is when you’re studying and living outside of home, you need to pay the bills somehow. Even though my job consists of customer service, admin work and finance, I still try to put my own spin on life to make it that little bit more interesting.

I get up in the morning and I’m excited to see what I’m going to wear that day. It’s not to impress anyone or to get heads turning, I like doing it for me. I guess I’m still that little girl that never grew out of playing dress up. I wear certain colours or clothes to express how I feel. You know the saying; “wearing something that makes look good, will make you feel good as well”. It’s kind of the same thing as shopping therapy but instead of buying new clothes, your exploring different ways to collaborate clothes in your current wardrobe.

For work, I don’t like wearing the normal back and grey colours. I prefer mixing it up, adding bold colours that pop, throwing in some floral prints. Combining the office secretary look with a cute and preppy look. My belief is even though work can be boring; it doesn’t mean that your clothes have to be.

One of last weeks outfits, I wore a baby blue chiffon shirt underneath a normal black dress. The black dress alone with a coloured blazer would usually suffice but I wanted to change it up a little. To make the outfit more visually appealing, I accessorised with a necklace bow tie and sunglasses. To add contrast to the baby blue number, I wore a MAC fuchsia pink lippy called “Girl about town”. For more of a professional feel, I slicked my hair back in a high bun and wore high heels. For those who aren’t too comfortable with showing some leg, you can wear simple black or skin coloured tights. This look is very feminine and professional, allowing you to show some skin but not too much. What do you think?

Stay tuned for this weeks outfits.

Don’t forget to follow me on Twitter, Look book, Chictopia and Instagram as fashiondiction!

Thanks for visiting :)

LBD_01

LBD_02

LBD_03

LBD_04

LBD_05

Leave a Reply

